Under the Third Schedule of the Constitution of Sierra Leone (Act No. 6 of 1991), the Parliament of Sierra Leone has on Tuesday, 7th November 2023 subscribed to the Oath of Office for 52 Members of Parliament of the Opposition, All People” ‘s Congress (APC) Party.

The Clerk of Parliament, Hon. Paran Umarr Tarawally successfully administered the Oath of Office to 52 opposition APC Members of   Parliament, following the conduct of the June 24th 2023 General Elections.

During the course of subscribing and signing of the Oath of Office for the Members of Parliament, the MPs said that, they would bear true faith and allegiance to the Republic of Sierra Leone as by law established and that would also uphold and defend the Constitution of Sierra Leone and that they would faithfully and conscientiously discharge the duties of Members of Parliament.

The Sixth Parliament is supposed to have 149 Members of Parliament, including Paramount Chief MPs who have successfully subscribed to the Oath of Office signifying 81 SLPP MPs, 14 PCMPs, and 54 APC MPs. Currently, there are two vacancies in Parliament, following the death of Hon. Paramount Chief Victor Brima Sidi Kebbie from Pujehun district and the serious illness of Hon. Paramount Chief Fabah Foday Kpakra from Kenema district respectively.

After subscribing oath of office, the MPs were ushered into their various seats in the Well of Parliament.

After the swearing-in of oath, the Speaker also announced the Leadership of APC in Parliament as follow:

1. Hon. Abdul Kargbo, Leader of the Opposition

2. Hon. Daniel B. Koroma, Deputy Opposition Leader 1

3. Hon. Aaron Aruna Koroma, Deputy Opposition Leader 2

4. Hon. Abdul Karim Kamara Opposition Whip

5. Hon. Catherine Zainab Tarawally Deputy Opposition Whip 1 and

6. Hon Kemokoh Conteh Deputy Opposition Whip 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *